Sheffield Fringe

Sheffield Fringe is a research project and a film programming initiative exploring the intersection of art & documentary practices through screenings, talks, and exhibition-making. The project aims to provide a space and a context to strengthen artists’ documentary as a specific form of cultural production separate from market pressures.

It was initiated in 2011 with events held annually in Sheffield to coincide with the Sheffield International Documentary Festival and turned into a biennial event in 2014.

Between 2011 and 2019 we held five festival editions in Sheffield and collaborated on screening events with Whitechapel Gallery (London), Close-Up Film Center (London), UnionDocs Center for Documentary Art (New York),  SALT Beyoğlu (Istanbul) and the Buenos Aires Museum of Modern Art among other venues.


Core team:  Minou Norouzi and Esther Harris. Tina Borkowski is responsible for the print design and Jonathan Perl for the website.


Special thanks to:  Abbas Nokhasteh, Tony Dowmunt, Christopher Wright, Lesley Hewings, Andrea Phillips, Sylvia Harvey, Sean Cubitt, Jennifer Fearnley, Didem Pekun, Luciano Zubillaga, Mark Nash, Gareth Evans, Adam Pugh, Caveh Zahedi, Steve Holmgren, Christopher Allen, Pınar Öğrenci, Holly Stanton at Ghebaly Gallery, Erika Balsom, Damien Sanville at Close-Up Film Centre, Declan Long, Thomas Ogden, Mike Sperlinger, Benjamin Cook, Gil Leung, Adam Hyman, Mark Toscano, Walid Raad, Anna-Karin Larsson, Vali Mahlouji, November Paynter, Meyer Voggenreiter at Piece Unique, Andrew Cannon at Gallery Bortolozzi, Ipek Yeginsu, Amanda McDowell, Mark R Albrow, Tim Machin, Sayshun Jay, Jamie Lowe, Mark Shenson, Saeed Taji Farouky, Rani Khanna, Marie Billegrav Bryant, Angus Braithwaite, Georgia Stone, Andi Stamp, John Furse, Rebekah Tolley, Charlotte Morgan, Lesley Guy, Richard Bartle, Katya Robin, Helen Stokes, Myfanwy Williams, Matthew Stock, Graham Hughes, Lindsey Friend, Esther Johnson, Ian Nesbitt, Emily Wilczek, Azra Tuzunogl, Mirko Nikolic, Victoria Simon, Jonathan Whitehall, Pauline Desouza, Hengameh Golestan, Afshin Dehkordi, Azar Emdahi, Madeleine Molyneaux, Martin Waldmeier, Madeleine Mullet, Johanna Blair, Daniel Davis & Nadine Lockyer at Anthony Reynolds Gallery, Rose Issa Projects, Joelle Te Paske at Paula Cooper Gallery, and all the artists who generously contributed their work.